Rap Around the World 1.4 – Arab Rap

This young lady is brilliant.  Arabic has a tradition of style and poetry that is second only to Swahili – which is influenced significantly by Arabic.  This Lebanese rapper actually incorporates the older traditions into a what began as a sui generis American art form.  It is simply incredible.

She is more than brilliant – she is also endangered.  Her primary theme revolves around the plight of women in Arab societies.  So every time she appears publicly to perform may be the last time she does it.

I hope you are as impressed with this as I am.

 

8 Responses to “Rap Around the World 1.4 – Arab Rap”

  1. LERMONTOV Says:

    I can’t say that I’m overly impressed!

    Like

  2. Gotta go with Lermontov on this one…but then, it is Rap, which irritates me in any language.

    Like

  3. I can hear both influences clearly – it’s pretty cool. I like the modern stuff being done with big beats, and the light flute doing the traditional melodies.

    Like

  4. paulboylan Says:

    Thanks, bart. I was beginning to wonder if I was the only non arab to appreciate her accomplishment.

    Like

  5. I think she has a lot of guts. I don’t really care for most rap or hip hop, but she has made a rather interesting blend.

    Like

  6. no bad…

    Like

  7. paulboylan Says:

    no bad, indeed.

    Like

  8. hip hop beat downloads…

    Say forside» Medier»…

    Like

Leave a Reply

