DISAPPOINTED IN OBAMA’S NOBEL PRIZE

I’m a little ticked-off it wasn’t awarded to me.

14 Responses to “DISAPPOINTED IN OBAMA’S NOBEL PRIZE”

  1. I heard it came down to you, barak and SJS. Giving it to Barak was probably the best way to give Dubya The Finger.

    Like

  2. I have one I’m not using if you want to borrow it.

    Like

  3. He missed out on the one he REALLY wanted though – the Ig Nobel Peace Prize. That went to some Swiss dudes who went around glassing people in pub carparks. For SCIENCE!
    http://chronicle.com/article/Winning-an-Ig-Nobel-Beats-a/48669/

    (Sadly, I actually downloaded the original paper and read it. Ubernerd.)

    Like

  4. bondiboy66 Says:

    They gave it to him for NOT being GWB.

    Like

  5. Your non-sequiturs ARE pretty damned special. Oh and that Thomas Beckett/futility thing you’ve got going too.

    Like

  6. No doubt you were robbed, after all Obama’s done nothing for me, where as you have given me so much. Do you have the Nobel comittee’s number, should I give them a call?

    Like

  7. For a reasonable fee I am willing to knock it off for you.

    Like

  8. I’m stunned too.
    I can’t understand how they sidelined Bono and Sting.
    Maybe next year.
    Keep up the good work PNB.

    Like

  9. Your time will surely come. But watch out for this Silvio Berlusconi guy:

    “I am, and not only in my own opinion, the best prime minister who could be found today,” he told a press conference. “I believe there is no one in history to whom I should feel inferior. Quite the opposite.”

    Well, maybe not…
    The problem, he explained, was that “In absolute terms, I am the most legally persecuted man of all times, in the whole history of mankind, worldwide, because I have been subjected to more than 2,500 court hearings and I have the good luck – having worked well in the past and having accumulated an important wealth – to have been able to spend more than €200m in consultants and judges … “

    Like

  10. Have to say Paul I belive you have done more to foster peace on earth compared with President Obama, afterall how many wars are you prosecuting at the moment?…ok that little dust up in Latin america but is that a war? more like hangbags at dawn….

    Like

  11. paul nicholas boylan Says:

    (suffering from jet lag and over-eating and typing on a keyboard in a hotel lobby and about to enter the streets in search of a big, big cup of coffee) yeah, yeah, whatever…

    Like

  12. Here is a consolation prize:
    “The bottom line is that most public agencies say no because they can, not because they have a reason for saying no.”
    You were right.

    Like

  13. Ana, you quote me from an article found at http://calaware.typepad.com/calaware_today/2009/06/judge-courts-spending-records-are-public.html, reporting my success in persuading a court to turn over documents (not an easy thing to do).

    Out of my still jet lagged brain and resulting diminished intellectual and emotional capacity (yes, that is what jet lag does to me; it is subjectively truly horrible) I provide you with this very minor and surprisingly bitter response to your statement above: of course I was right. I’ve been battling petty, small minded, emotionally stunted, irrationally and ludicristically hubristic bureaucrats as an attorney for over 20 years. My analysis of such situations, my predictions for government agency/bureaucratic response, and my strategies for persuading officials and agencies to turn over records are not the result of fantasy or guess work.

    I do not hope public employees will remember their duty and remember who they work for. My deep and extensive experience teaches me that such hope hope is utterly and uneqivocally wasted. Instead of hoping, I take necessary steps to make sure they remember. But my goals are not dependent on the sufficiency of their memory; all that matters is that they fulfill their duty to he public – whether they want to or not. It is also important that they remember me when I come knocking again – and the only way a petty, small minded, emotionally stunted, irrationally and ludicristically hubristic bureaucrat ever remembers anything is when the memory is engendered via pain of losing a legal battle and being forced to pay llegal fees and costs. Eventually they do learn, but they never, ever do the right thing – on their own – for the right reasons. Ever.

    I honestly wish it weren’t this way. But it is.

    As you know, despite the miasma surrounding me, I am in my last and final week of conducting a two week seminar on negotiations for first, second and third year law students and one class of advanced business students. For my third year and business students I include a section on the no-win situation where a client insists on dictating not only the strategy used but also the execution of that strategy. I explain that a negotiator has two choices when confronted with this situation – explain the pit falls associated with the client’s approach and/or resign. I also tell my students that being right is never a sufficient consolation in such a situation, no more than being right is any consolation when a doctor tells his or her patient that, without medication, the patient will die, but the patient chooses to treat their illness through positive thinking alone and dies as a consequence.

    There is no consolation in being right when “being right” is just a way of dressing up failure to make it seem less dishonorable and depressing.

    Like

  14. LOL

    Don’t be so dour. Take the consolation prize for being right on the one statement, you silly ingrate.

    As for your lesson, don’t forget to tell them there is more than one way to solve a problem. And sometimes two heads are better than one, although maybe not as big as the one next door.

    Enjoy the rest of your week; sometimes the patient survives.

    Like

Leave a Reply

