ANOTHER REASON TO LOVE THE INTERNET

We are all aware of what is wrong with the Internet, and much has been written and blogged about the evils of the World Wide Web.  Those critical of the Internet point to many examples of how the advent of the Internet has transformed human society for the worse by allowing forums for people with nothing of value to say and creating the illusion of connection while, at the same time, slowly reducing if not eliminating actual human contact.

All of this, and more, is true. But there are aspects of the Internet that you just cannot help but love and admire.  For example, the following photograph is racing around the world from compute to computer – a phenomenon impossible prior to the World Wide Web.  But now, in this Brave New World, people in every nation, of every culture, of every religion can share the instant pleasure and sudden humor that comes from being part of the world’s first system of instant, universal communication:

.

.

.

.

7 Responses to “ANOTHER REASON TO LOVE THE INTERNET”

  1. I miss my Ford Van…

    Like

  2. First reaction: That is a scary pic, you have gone off the deep end;
    Second thought: better on the screen than on my street.

    Like

  3. Klassy!
    & interesting thoughts on exposure = validity, but I’ll have to file it away for another day.

    Like

  4. We can trust him. That guy looks legit. Free Candy!

    Like

  5. Free candy would be a blessing. I do not see the joke.

    Like

  6. It wasn’t instant pleasure or sudden humor, but I the joke I saw is the truck/internet metaphor.

    pnb, tentative good news up in my next of the woods

    Like

  7. Hey … I give away the good candy – that’s why I don’t have the money for a nicer van. I don’t toss those stupid little Sweet n Sours or single Tootsie Rolls. I give the Snickers and peanut M&Ms. PEANUT, ya’ hear. Not the plain ones.

    I’m a man o’ quality.

    Like

Leave a Reply

