HEADLINE – US combat rifles embedded with Bible verses


REYKJAVIK – Combat rifle sights used by U.S. forces in Iraq and Afghanistan carry references to Bible verses, stoking concerns about whether the inscriptions break a government rule that bars proselytizing by American troops.


Military officials said the citations don’t violate the ban. One such inscription includes a reference to John 8:12: “When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, ‘I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.'”


“These inscriptions communicating Jesus’ message of peace and understanding do not violate the ban against proselytizing,” said Air Force spokesperson, Major John Blankenship.

 

Maj. John Blankenship

 

“There is no indication that any of our bullets have converted any of their targets to Christianity,” said Blankenship.


There is evidence, however, that bullets fired by guns with Bible verse inscriptions are convincing the Taliban and al Qaeda to change their ways.

Thinking it over.

“Right before Achmed was killed by an American sniper, he looked at me and said ‘I am suddenly compelled by logic, reason and spiritual insight to conclude that our leaders are completely wrong in their argument that the Americans are fighting a religious war against Islam and that their invasion is little different from the European invasions during the Crusades,’” said Aziz, a Taliban commander.

Aziz

“Achmed paused in deep though, and then continued, saying ‘perhaps this also means that we should reject Islam and consider accepting Jesus as our personal savior.’ Then Achmed’s head exploded.”

Achmed

“Nevertheless, Achmed’s points were well-made, thought provoking, and his logic impeccable,” Aziz concluded.

Mikey Weinstein, president of the Military Religious Freedom Foundation, said he has received complaints about the Scripture citations from active-duty and retired members of the military. Weinstein said he couldn’t identify them because they fear retaliation.


“We see nothing ironic whatsoever or in any way hypocritical, alarming or distasteful in inscribing weapons with Jesus quotes,” said General Jack T. Ripper from an undisclosed location.

.


Sources: http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/americas/8468981.stm

.

.

34 Responses to “HEADLINE – US combat rifles embedded with Bible verses”

  1. I’d put this on my rifle:

    “Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for I am the baddest mother f**ker IN the valley; with air support”

    Inspired by Psalms 23:4

    Like

  2. You continually surprise me, mate. Now I find you that you have a strong spiritual nature.

    And, yes, air support is very important from a purely spiritual viewpoint.

    Like

  3. Having had a bit more of a clasical education I’d go with “For I am Chaz marksman of marksmen, behold my accuracy ye mighty and shudder as thou art next!”
    apols to the immortal Shelley

    Like

  4. First Carroll and now Shelley. Ozymandias, no less.

    What are you trying to do, make me look stupid?

    Like

  5. What a perfect thing for a death cult to do, cute little inscriptions on their weapons – f**k yeah!!!

    Like

  6. Paul, how could you even CONCEIVE that I would do something like that? Anyway Havsy and Naut are much easier targets!!!!

    Like

  7. BTW Neruda or Chekhov next?

    Like

  8. Donna – It goes far, far beyond that.

    Chaz – By now you should know that I can conceive of far more than I can actually articulate. However, I am gratified and a bit relieved that there are easier targets than me.

    Like

  9. Anything but Faulkner and Hemingway.

    Like

  10. My sarcasm was higher than high there and forgive me but i was thinking of Team America… and hell yeah, it sure does go way beyond that!

    Amongst other things…. god forbid we offend people before we kill them!

    Like

  11. I am chagrinned I missed the Team America allusion. Truly.

    Like

  12. Fair enough Paul, who could have known that the military would have proselytizing weapons? Sheesh, sounds like something that should have been in Team America – jeebus guns!!

    Actually it all reminds me of a quote from good old bishop spong….

    “The Bible has been used for centuries by Christians as a weapon of control. To read it literally is to believe in a three-tiered universe, to condone slavery, to treat women as inferior creatures, to believe that sickness is caused by God’s punishment and that mental disease and epilepsy are caused by demonic possession. When someone tells me that they believe the Bible is the ‘literal and inerrant word of God,’ I always ask, ‘Have you ever read it’?”

    Like

  13. Its a bit complicated for me, trying to write inscriptions on my weapons. I tried using quotes from Peanuts, then I started using Far Side cartoons but it took too long to engrave those comic animals onto the rifle. I settled on a Gilligans Island sticker depicting the Skipper using his hat to womp on Gilligan, with the tag “Gilligan! You idiot!!!!”. Using it I’ve defeated many an army.

    Shelley, Carroll? You guys are gettin’ all edumikated now aren’t you?
    I’m more a de Sade man myself.

    Like

  14. Donna -The man you are quoting is clearly referring to one or more protestant versions of Christianity. I am Greek Orthodox. We don’t proselytizing so I won’t even attempt to tell you how and why we are different from other forms of Christianity other than to say that my faith does not require me to turn off my brain.

    Therbs – Ah yes, I fondly remember the first time I read Justine.

    Like

  15. Apologies Paul, didnt mean to insult you at all, each to his own and all that…

    Spong is a very interesting character, and although I am an Atheist I find his questioning of all things traditionally religious to be refreshingly fearless.

    Like

  16. Donna – You didn’t insult me. I just took advantage of your comment to insult protestants. I don’t mind at all that you are an Atheist. In the course of things as they should be, it shouldn’t matter at all. As for Spong, I’ll most certainly look him up.

    Like

  17. Good on you Paul, it doesn’t matter at all of course, and hopefully you had any lurking protestants spluttering into their coffee as they read your reply!

    Like

  18. here’s an interesting interview with Bishop Spong from ozzie tv 🙂
    http://www.abc.net.au/compass/intervs/spong2001.htm

    Like

  19. […] HEADLINE: US combat rifles embedded with Bible verses « PEOPLE OF … […]

    Like

  20. We had Turkish for dinner last night.
    Which means I know for a fact you spelled Ahmet wrong.

    I assume this is intentional and naturally, hilarious.
    carry on professor.

    Like

  21. No. It was an unintentional error, for which I now feel humeliated.

    Like

  22. Here, have a beatle leaf. Its obund to chere ewe up.

    Like

  23. Come by for a laugh, always need to do a google search or two. What fun.

    I try to remain simply the loyal fan of you all, but my nature is to stand beside the underdog, so today I add this thought:
    I am no fan of one faction of the current protestant leadership but please remember that the founder of Protestant wing of the Christian church was taking a stand against corruption, and our Marting Luther King, Jr. led the non-violent arm of the fight for civil rights.

    Wonderful post paulboylan, the last paragraph and pic are sublime.

    Like

  24. Ana – First, always good to see you and read your comments. Second, my jab at Protestants was tongue-in-cheek. Third, Martin Luther was a great man, but, although his motives were pure and right (and I say that sincerely without sarcasm) he became the source of great and very sad irony when his power – which I believe he did not expect and for which he was unprepared – caused him to become the very thing he rebelled against.

    As for Dr. King, as far as I know he did not corrupt the Christian message in order to justify non-Christian practices. There is nothing I can say about anyone that is more favorable than that. Uniting Jesus with guns is incredibly ironic in a brutal, rough sort of way. The irony Dr. King embodied and ultimately represents is far more subtle.

    Like

  25. And what did you think of my comments at the North Coast Journal? Some fun, eh?

    Like

  26. Is that why a cross is incised into the tip of bullets – for religious reasons? Silly me, here was I thinking that it was to generate greater expansive force and more shrapnel, thereby pulverising greater tracts of tender vulnerable heathen flesh.

    They should all read “Jesus wept”.

    Mind you, from what I hear about how well you fellas are going in Afghanistan, perhaps the power of prayer will help. Want me to commission some weapons-grade holy water?

    Like

  27. Morgana – the cross you describe creates what is known as a “dumdum” bullet. Soldiers cut those grooves themselves into bullets to create the effect you describe. Now, of course, they can be purchased manufactured that way. It is all about convenience, isn’t it?

    Our boys and girls in Afghanistan welcome our prayers, of course, but let’s be careful about believing God favors our efforts. Proclaiming that “God is on our side” is the best way to lose big. Let us remember that the moment George W. Bush proclaimed that he was acting as an instrument of God’s will was the moment everything he touched turned to shit.

    God has a wicked sense of humor. Or should I spell that “humour?” Hell, it doesn’t matter. God loves irony. That is all matters.

    Like

  28. Its people like you that Jesus hates because he hates unbeliever blasphemer fornicators and he hates poor people because they are lazy. Jesus blesses America and we will win our wars against all those who dont accept Jesus as their savior and wont do what God commands and that is to worship the Lord or be cast into the lake of fire to burn forever amen.

    Like

  29. Can’t argue with that.

    Like

  30. The irony Dr. King embodied? Have to think on that.

    Your NCJ comments were most appreciated and enjoyed. Speaking of which, got a call from a new friend of yours north of here who saw the NJC. I waxed eloquent on your virtues, including what a godsend this blog was.

    Glad to hear God loves irony, now I know my pact with the wonder-of-it-all will be fulfilled when the time comes. Now I just have convince myself you have the direct line that you keep claiming.

    Like

  31. So, jesus hates eh….well, you know, I never realised, I thought it was all turn the other cheek….love thine enema and all that too….and he also hates the poor people too, sheesh I better get some money together eh, you coulda knocked me down with a feather, thanks for the info tripper!

    Like

  32. G E N O C I D E in Old Testament!!! Jesus+Hitler!!!
    Deuteronomy: 22 “He will consume these nations in your sight by little and little and by degrees. You will not be able to destroy them altogether: lest perhaps the beasts of the earth should increase upon you.”

    Deut.29 “When the Lord your God shall have destroyed before your face the nations, which you shall go in to possess, and when you shall possess them, and dwell in their land.”

    Deut. 19. “When the Lord your God has destroyed the nations, whose land he will deliver to you, and you shall possess it, and shall dwell in the cities and houses thereof: 2 You shall separate to you three cities in the midst of the land, which the Lord will give you in possession,…”

    Jesus: 37 “But let your speech be yea, yea: no, no: and that which is over and above these, is of evil.”

    Jesus: 17 “Do not think that I have come to destroy the law, or the prophets. I am not come to destroy, but to fulfil.

    18 For amen I say unto you, till heaven and earth pass, one jot, or one tittle shall not pass of the law, till all be fulfilled.

    19 He therefore that shall break one of these least commandments, and shall so teach men shall be called the least in the kingdom of heaven. But he that shall do and teach, he shall be called great in the kingdom of heaven.” Deut. 7:22., Deut. 12:29., Deut. 19:1.

    Jesus: 6 “But he that shall scandalize one of these little ones that believe in me, it were better for him that a millstone should be hanged about his neck, and that he should be drowned in the depth of the sea.”

    Jesus: 9 “For now the axe is laid to the root of the trees. Every tree therefore that brings not forth good fruit shall be cut down and cast into the fire.”

    Jesus: 27 “But as for those my enemies, who would not have me reign over them, bring them hither and kill them before me.”

    Jesus: 10 14 “I am the good shepherd: and I know mine, and mine know me.

    15 As the Father knows me, and I know the Father: and I lay down my life for my sheep. Deut. 7:22., Deut. 19:1.

    16 And other sheep I have that are not of this fold: them also I must bring. And they shall hear my voice: And there shall be one fold and one shepherd.

    17 Therefore does the Father love me: because I lay down my life, that I may take it again.”

    Jesus: 5 “I am the vine: you the branches. He that abides in me, and I in him, the same bears much fruit: for without me you can do nothing.

    6 If any one abide not in me, he shall be cast forth as a branch and shall wither: and they shall gather him up and cast him into the fire: and he burns.”

    Atheist 100% ( Richard Dawkins+Friedrich Nietzsche )

    Like

  33. paulboylan Says:

    I don’t quite get your point, Max.

    Like

  34. Be a faithful student of the Bible and watch your confidence
    grow. 10 commandments of leadership tee shirts
    on the Internet. The main goal of a technical writer is to convey an idea in a terse and
    concise way. Other Examples of Biblical 10 commandments of leadership Friendship10 commandments of leadership friendship is a good thing.
    No matter where you want your child to learn these things?

    Like

Leave a Reply

