HOW TO READ A BOOK

.

.

Open it. Read the words. Turn the pages.

What’s your problem?

.

.

18 Responses to “HOW TO READ A BOOK”

  1. But, but….where’s the pictures? I like pictures, me.

    Like

  2. Me does too, and nipples.

    Like

  3. I used to love the Martian Chronicles… I think I read each book at least 3 times, and I still have my original paperback book versions (>40 yrs. old)

    hooray for BOOKS!

    Like

  4. So have your fellow Americans taken your advice above yet?

    Like

  5. Frankly, no.

    Like

  6. Can we get this run as a newsticker item across the screen on Fox News? It may just save America.

    Like

  7. I cannot tell you how pleased I am at the prospect of saving America. But I am not sure it can be saved.

    Like

  8. Whoa now, let’s not go over board. All books aren’t worth reading and real life has a lot to offer also.. And please, let’s acknowledge that there are some aspects of the good ol’ U.S. of A. that aren’t worth saving and the sooner we get over ourselves the better.

    Interesting, when I considered the question presented the answer was: virtually anyone can do the first and last, but the middle part really is a problem for some. But then, I’m a reading tutor.

    Funny thing, perspective.

    Like

  9. Oh, I agree. Perspective is HILARIOUS.

    Like

  10. Bradbury is The Man, I reread The Chrysalids frequently prob 4 or 5 times a year. The Day Of The Triffids is on Brig. Barnes’ compulsory Zed training reading list.
    I note your instructions did not specify in which order the words should be read, nor how many pages to turn at any given time. Do you think it wise to leave that to the audience to experiment with?
    One can’t be too careful.

    Like

  11. I’ve met Ray a number of times. He doesn’t know how to drive an automobile and was once cited for riding his horse down Ocean Park Blvd. in Santa Monica.

    Didn’t Wyndham write Day of the Triffids?

    Like

  12. crap I hate it when you are right.
    Which pretty much means most of the time.
    Who am I kidding? you are always right Prof, just to vaying degrees.
    I will not free associate
    I will not free associate
    I will not free associate

    Like

  13. Can I lick my finger before page turning?

    Like

  14. Nat, don’t you have a pageboy to do that?
    NBob – Wyndham wrote The Chrysalids as well as Day of the Triffids. He also wrote The Kraken Wakes, Chocky and The Trouble With Lichen. He was one of my faves when I was a young’un.
    Bradbury was Da Man when it came to Martian literature . More anecdotes please Professor!

    Like

  15. Bob, if you stop free associating then I will stop pontificating, and then where would we be?

    Natalie – No. But you can lick my finger before, well heck, before anything you want.

    Therbs – You want an anecdote? How’s this: when I was 15 I wrote to Ray Bradbury and told him I wanted to interview him for my school newspaper. I told him that I read he rides his bicycle and since I have a bicycle perhaps we could ride our bicycles together while I interviewed him.

    He wrote back and agreed. One Saturday he and I rode our bikes together in Santa Monica.

    Ray was an AWFUL bike rider. Really erratic. But I learned he had a lot of daughters and felt a strange affection for American Robber Barons who, in old age, built libraries in small towns all over America resulting in a “river of books” I remember him saying.

    Before we parted he borrowed five dollars from me. I never heard from him again.

    True story.

    Like

  16. Well, true except for the part about borrowing five dollars. I made that part up.

    Like

  17. and the bike ride bit ?

    Like

  18. No, that is true. And I saw him again a number of times over the years.

    Like

Leave a Reply

