I WANT YOU TO PICK MY NEW AVATAR PHOTO

I’ve decided I need a new avatar photo.  This is the one I’ve been using:

.

.

This is really a great photograph.  It is utterly cool in every way an avatar photo can be cool. But, despite how cool it is, no one has ever commented on it – which means no one gets it.

So it is time for Rotwang from Fritz Lang’s Metropolis to go,  but I don’t want to exert the effort of deciding which photo should be my new avatar, which means you get to pick.

I’ve narrowed the field down a bit.  My finalists are numbered below. Whichever pic gets the most votes will be my new avatar.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.


.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.


.

.

.


41 Responses to “I WANT YOU TO PICK MY NEW AVATAR PHOTO”

  1. OK, the Dog, Emu and Green Lantern are SO not you. Rotwang was great – sorry I didn’t comment. Mad scientists are probably more my style though.

    Rasputin & the Space Gorilla/Robot Monster are tempting but it has to be the Hoogstra (?) image from Deadman 2. This is a face that has looked upon Hell. Only then can one develop that “individual” sense of humour.

    Like

  2. Green Lantern is SO me.

    Like

  3. I to loved your previous avatar plus his name s ROTWANG, I’m mean ROTWANG who wouldn’t want to be calledROTWANG.

    The green lantern is so you I was wondering if DC had approached you to play Hal Jorden in the new movie.

    Though for me Jaap Hoogsta is the one

    Like

  4. I still favour the original.

    Like

  5. I’m voting for retention of the ‘Wang. Failing that Ra-Ra-Rasputin, because he has his own theme song, and everyone wants that.

    Like

  6. Gorilla in helmet. I think the reason is obvious.

    Like

  7. Robot Monster is always cool. Big, strong, enigmatic, hairy. And being an alien he gets to hang out with Space Chicks. Presumably.

    Pic One of Generic Cranky Old Bastard is pretty good too – very suitable for when you go into Indignant Rant Mode. Or as a nice juxtaposition to a humourous piece.

    Like

  8. Anna Nymous Says:

    -Rotwang was good; desperate and demented but funny.
    -If you need a change and you are attempting to lose weight, go for the hairy one in the helmet; everytime you see him you’ll be reminded that too much time at the computer is bad for our health. Besides he’s cute in a lovable sort a way. And if memory serves, he may not be surrounded by space chicks but he did manage to pick up (literally) at least one high heeled lass.
    -Don’t let Yuri play to your do-gooder ways; sounds like the Ras has maybe paid his dues and the image would really work with some of your pieces, but you don’t owe Ras anything. If however you want to stay with demented and ad demonic, choose Ras.
    -Green lantern is so you– young, fit and powerful. Thanks for the chuckle.
    -Another possibility is the emu. It has a wonderful ambiguous quality. Cute, even slightly funny, but with a look in the eye that says ‘I mean business.’

    Like

  9. Desperate? How is “Rotwang in Contemplation” desperate? The choice was, and is, hilarious! Almost as funny as Green Lantern.

    The story about Jack Black vying for the part is true – which is even funnier. The cinematic world is not ready for a chubby, short Green Lantern.

    I do like the emu for the reasons your articulate.

    Like

  10. I can SO see angry hat man writing one of your rants, and meaning it.

    Angry Hat man.

    Like

  11. Sorry, man — but I could never, ever pass up Rasputin. You gotta go with the Mad Monk.

    Like

  12. Anna Nymous Says:

    Looking at the large version perhaps Rotwang might indeed be in contemplation. I see his left hand, indeed his whole demeanor could be said to be relax rather than tense. But as an avatar It is too small to note such subtle detail. So I think “Rotwang in Desperation” is a better title for that pic as seen as an avatar; he appears desperately contemplating how he can accomplish his demented plan. If you want Rotwang in contemplation I think this pic deserves that title:

    Rotwang was a great choice, without a doubt. But as you say, no one gets it.

    Unfortunately the emu, with its subtle qualities may suffer the same loss in avitar size.

    Hmm…

    Like

  13. “Rotwang in Contemplation” is the actual title for the pic I am currently using as an avatar. I agree its impact is lost when viewed in reduced size.

    I love the photo you found, but feel it should be titled “Rotwang in Admiration.” He is, after all, admiring his fiendish work – a diabolical co-mingling of black magic and heartless science.

    Like

  14. Anna Nymous Says:

    yuri–what to say? in pain and trouble wth the law, bummer. Is the pencil the only pain reliever you have?

    pnb–call it what you will, glad you enjoyed the photo. As for your avatar, YB may be on to something. And it might survive the miniaturization.

    Like

  15. The surly bloke in the hat – looks like a bookie who’s had a rotten day at the track. There’s something about the contrast between his viciously down-turned mouth and immaculate striped tie that seems apposite.

    Like

  16. Didn’t you used to use a picture of Gene Wilder from Frankenstein??…I always loved that one.

    Monkey helmet FTW…Rasputin is just too creepy, yet if you want to create an image as a man that can never be clubbed to death then by all means go ahead.

    Like

  17. Oh and yes…Metropolis images featured heavily in Queen’s filmclip for Radio Ga-Ga so yeah I got that…kinda 😀

    Like

  18. Helmeted gorilla. The rest just look too run of the mill. If not that one, then perhaps Feter Finch from Network (I’m mad as hell…)

    Like

  19. That’s Peter Finch, of course. Sudden dyslexia and mistyping are ganging up on me this morning.

    Like

  20. It just has to be Rasputin. He told me so over a couple of beers down at the Edinburgh Castle Hotel last night. He’s a funny sort of bloke but he shouts in turn and is quick with a quip. He supports South Sydney in the NRL and is a keen watcher of the Winter Olympics, particularly the Curling.

    Like

  21. What about the sexy chrome chick from metropolis?
    Or those fab shots of the lumpenproles marching into the belly of the beast, although they may not minaturise so well.

    The pram / staircase shot from Battleship Potempkin?

    I vote NAY on Rasputin for being far far far too kreepy.

    If you want perverse Russians how about ol’ Niccolai Tessla ?

    Like

  22. It is spelled “Tesla” and he was Serbian. But a good suggestion for an avatar.

    Like

  23. A great avatar.
    Strong design element that grabs the eye and a full figure in an evocative pose. Ultimately scalable.

    Russian, Serbian, whatever. It only matters to Russians, Serbians and Eurocentric pedants. Your pedantry delightfully offsets my complete lack of giving a crap and is admirable. Your Eurocentrism however is unpatriotic, visceraly threatening and possibly criminal in some jurisdictions.

    Like

  24. I was into Tesla before Tesla was cool. And it is amazing, and quite wonderful, how the world suddenly remembered him. There is no deeper, more interesting or more tragic figure – an immigrant genius who is literally the father of modern techno-industrial civilization, who died alone and insane, and who’s private notes were gathered up by the FBI immediately after his death and are still locked away because J. Edgar Hoover was worried that those notes would fall into the “wrong hands” and be used to build super weapons.

    I am suddenly inspired to prosecute a Freedom of Information Act request for those notes. It will take years – it always does – but wouldn’t it be cool to get those notes, even if they are gibberish?

    Like

  25. Comrades, Hilary Clinton has been at the Tessla facility, urinating on a high voltage coil to get her hair to develop a white streak so she truely looks like the bride of Frankenstein. It has affected her brain and that’s why she has turned into a war-mongering cow.

    Like

  26. Comrades, that “old cocksucker” Nixon’s description of old J Edgar, had dosiers on everyone. He was smart enough to allign himself with the super rich. So when Morgenthau was investigating the international banks after ww ii trying to see why they were still doing business, business with the enemy , that is. Hoover put a damper on it. The Fascists had to join ranks against the peace loving Soviet Union, even though the Eastern Front was the biggest single contribution to the defeat of the Fascist Nazi warmongers.

    Like

  27. L Dogg 20 Says:

    Who gives a shit what avatar you use. Vote on it for you? Who do you think you are?

    Like

  28. paulboylan Says:

    You are right, of course. No one really cares which avatar I use, including me. This post was just an excuse to show some funny photos that are a bit funnier in sequence.

    Who do I think I am? Well, that is a difficult question to answer in general, but easy to answer if I compare myself to you. I am richer, happier, smarter and better looking than you. And I have a better sense of humor.

    But I digress. Which avatar do you think I should use?

    Like

  29. paulboylan Says:

    Oh yeah, and my wife is prettier and better in bed than yours – if, of course, you have a wife, or a life partner – which, if you do, is perfectly fine. There is nothing wrong with homosexuality in the abstract.

    Like

  30. paulboylan Says:

    What I am trying to say is that I am better than you in every measurable sense. I think that more or less sums up my response to your post.

    I am, however, not “smug” in my sure knowledge that, compared to you, I am better in every way. The odds are you don’t measure up very well in respect to a great many people, so the comparison really doesn’t say much about me in reference to the world at large. On the happiness/intelligence/personal wealth/sex life/sense of humor scale I probably rank somewhere in the middle even though in all respects I am way ahead of you.

    Like

  31. paulboylan Says:

    Oh yeah, and the odds are very good that the home I live in is much, much larger, better built and worth more than the one you live in – if you own a home at all. The odds are good you rent.

    Like

  32. Ana Nymous Says:

    Now, now paulboylan. I think you are forgetting one thing. L Dogg 20 is obviously probably a, what was the term you used or do I want to repeat it…, well anyway, one of those who for inexplicable reasons ends up with a hot chick.

    Nice to see a bit of modesty in that rant.

    In sequence? I missed that, looked rather random to me…

    Like

  33. paulboylan Says:

    Ana – Confidence is not the same as arrogance . One is a strength; the other is a deadly sin. I am not claiming to be free of that particular sin, but I do try to avoid it.

    Despite my strengths I am well-aware of my place in the larger universe.

    Like

  34. Ana nymous Says:

    Of Course you are; that is what I was trying to convey.
    Your response was a totally hilarious rant, but unlike many rants it contained a bit of modesty. Without it it would have been just arrogance, and the exchange just two men pissing on each other.

    However, while I am here, forgive my arrogance but I think your claim of superiority based on owning a home rather than renting is weak. Many wonderful, creative, intelligent people have never owned a home or much else for that matter. But, I don’t need to tell you that, it was part of the joke, and your modesty, I think.

    Like

  35. paulboylan Says:

    Actually it was part of the joke – and it was hilarious. Well, hilarious to me. And that is what counts. I do this to make myself laugh and, to me, the juxtaposition/seesaw between arrogance and humility was nicely capped by a purely materialistic, even jingoistic view of the universe – jingoistic because it seems to be an American viewpoint that homeowners are somehow superior as people to renters.

    And, truth be told, my home is actually quite modest, located in a middle middle class neighborhood with neighbors who actually say hello to each other every day, watch each other’s kids and freely borrow things from each other. To paraphrase my distant neighbor, Kim Robinson, enough is as good as a feast and often better.

    Like

  36. Ana nymous Says:

    Amen

    Like

  37. the ostrich. without a doubt.

    Like

  38. paulboylan Says:

    It’s not an ostrich. It’s an emu. A three toed bird native to Australia. And delicious if prepared properly.

    Like

  39. And you thought you were having a bad day!…

    This maybe a little off topic, but I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to my catalog of off colored jokes. If we can’t laugh about it then what can we do? I hope you are not offended and that you enjoy :)…

    Like

  40. paulboylan Says:

    Not offended in the least.

    Like

Leave a Reply

