MEET KAREN (again) [UPDATED]

>

About a year ago, I asked all of you to go to a website devoted to the American cable television show Mad Men and vote for my dear friend, Karen, so that she could appear on that television program.  This is Karen:

.

Sister of my spirit.

.

Please note the ankle tattoo. I will NOT entertain discussion of her “tramp stamp” so don’t even ask.  I’m looking at you, Barnes and Bondi.

I was at our favorite sushi bar the other day with Karen, her husband Gerald and their daughter Laney.  Gerald looks like this:

.

Gerald is possibly the most interesting person I know, and I know a lot of interesting people.  He is the guy who wrote a program called Ethereal now known as Wireshark, a network protocol analyzer.  If you don’t know what that is, then you can’t say you know what is really going on.

Gerald and Karen’s daughter, Laney, looks like this:

.

So we are sitting there chatting, catching up on stuff, when suddenly, and without warning of any kind, Laney gasps and says:

“I swallowed my tooth.”

Laney is very, very young, and is losing her baby teeth. Well, at the moment she was chewing on and swallowing a bit of California Roll, one of her lose teeth dislodged and went down with the food.

.

The culprit.

Laney was very unhappy, but soon was eating with gusto again.

But Karen was not satisfied.

“That is Laney’s first baby tooth. I am going to get that tooth,” she said to me, her words oozing with ruthless determination. “You know me,” she said. ” I am going to get that tooth.”

The visual image was, well, rather disgusting.  Karen saw it on my face and attempted to reassure me.

“I am going to use gloves,” she said.

Using gloves was not really the point.  The concept of Karen rooting through Laney’s – well, you know – was the image that was revolting me.

“Well, okay,” I said. “But I want pictures so I can post them on my blog.”

“Okay!” Karen said.

So, stay tuned!  Pics on the way!

.

UPDATE

Karen succeeded . Here is the tooth:

.

.

Karen assures me that she “soaked it in bleach” but – from my perspective – that isn’t really an important point.

When all is said and done, that tooth has a heck of a story associated with it.  And although the details may be a bit unsavory, it really is an amazing story. And isn’t that what all of this is about?

.

.

8 Responses to “MEET KAREN (again) [UPDATED]”

  1. Hmm, there are times that I’m glad I’m blind, pictures such as you’ve described would count as one. *shudder*

    Like

  2. paulboylan Says:

    I am kidding about the photos. Even I have my limits.

    Like

  3. bondiboy66 Says:

    ‘Tramp Stamp’? Moi? Look, everyone knows a tramp stamp is a tatt across the lower back/belt line. Besides, my good lady wife has two tattoos so who am I to critisise? Come to that, alone my siblings and siblings-in-law, I am the only one without at least one tattoo…

    As for digging through erm…stuff for a tooth, well after years of nappy changing I’m sure that is pretty samll bickies. No pics though, thanks.

    Is Karen a Space Chick? I’m pretty sure you were promising Space Chicks.

    Like

  4. paulboylan Says:

    Yeah, you. And Barnes. And maybe Yobbo.

    Karen would probably consider herself a Space Chick. Let me give a little detail that might help you understand her better. When my wife and I remodeled our house, Karen fixed the stuff the contractors didn’t know how to fix. I swear it’s true. For example, when the contractors installed our new dishwasher, and it wouldn’t work, and they didn’t know how to make it work, Karen got under the sink with some tools and in about five minutes had it working, and it has continued working great for over a year. Is Karen a Space Chick? You bet she is, in the same manner that Kara Thrace is a Space Chick.

    As for the post I have promised on the subject, I’m working on it; I’m working on it. It’s a very broad subject.

    Like

  5. Always happy to hear tales of space chicks, and that you have limits Mr Boylan.

    and I am now going to leave before I say anything else.

    Like

  6. bondiboy66 Says:

    Despite the details, I can totally dig and relate to the efforts to retrieve one’s child’s first tooth. So major kudos to Karen for her commitment!

    Like

  7. paulboylan Says:

    I will let her know. She will be very happy about the validation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

