HEADLINE: Segway Chief Dies in Segway Accident

LONDON — James W. Heselden, the owner of the company that makes the Segway, died Sunday morning when he drove one of the two-wheeled scooters off a cliff close to his home in West Yorkshire, England.

He died doing what he loved best – falling and screaming ‘OH SHIIIIIT!!!!!’ said Heslden’s neighbor, Krista Schnurstein.

.

.

.

Sourse: http://www.nytimes.com/pages/technology/index.html.

.

.


18 Responses to “HEADLINE: Segway Chief Dies in Segway Accident”

  1. In terms of comedy deaths, that’s almost as funny as Heidi Montag’s plastic surgeon being killed after driving off the road and off a cliff while Twittering about his dog. And if I knew who the f**k Heidi Montag was, I’d probably think it was even funnier.

    Like

  2. I understand that the Research In Motion CEO (BLackberry) died in a traffic accident when his repetitive strain injury precluded his ability to work the signal change indicator lever in his Porsche.

    Like

  3. Love this bit from an article about his death.

    The West Yorkshire police did not treat his death as suspicious, Neil Wardley, a police spokesman, said, adding that a local coroner had yet to establish the exact cause of death.

    o.O

    Like

  4. Heheheh I just read that in the paper over lunch, and read it out to my eldest sons…suffice to say we all laughed out loud!

    The only other one I can think of at present is the bloke who popularised jogging some years back…he ultimately died whilst out jogging.

    Like

  5. Bondi – His name was Jim Fixx. He wrote the Complete Book of Running. It was WAY funny when he died of a heart attack whilst jogging.

    God has a sick and divinely terrible sense of humour.

    Like

  6. Tragic yet befitting…

    Like

  7. Four wheels good, two wheels bad.
    Straight after claiming to Dick Cavett that “I’ll live to 100” in a TV interview, the guru of healthy eating & organic foods Jerome Rodale died of a heart attack at the age of 72.

    Like

  8. I wasn’t a believer in fate, until now.

    It was meant to be.

    Like

  9. You’d look good on one of them.

    Like

  10. I’d look good on anything, Natalie.

    Like

  11. I think this was a case of taking ‘off road’ a little bit too far.

    Like

  12. Paul, I don’t have your email, check this out though, you’ll love it: http://www.holytaco.com/turning-america-islamofascist-theocracy-harder-i-thought

    Like

  13. I absolutely love it, and am glad you posted the link here.

    But never, never, ever email me directly or I will immediately obtain a restraining order. Okay?

    Like

  14. “But never, never, ever email me directly or I will immediately obtain a restraining order. Okay?”

    and if I just turn up on your doorstep one day with flowers?

    Like

  15. paulboylan Says:

    I am severely homophobic, and would shun you. However, substitute the flowers with a six pack of reasonably good beer and I would welcome you into my home.

    Like

  16. How about if I climb down your chimney?

    Like

  17. paulboylan Says:

    I am severely Santaphobic, and would shun you. However, substitute the chimney with the front door and I would welcome you into my home.

    Like

  18. Keep an eye on this bloke, PNB, if you’re looking for contenders for the Darwin Awards.

    Like

Leave a Reply

