22 Years

 

 

Today is my anniversary. I’ve been married 22 years.

I am proof of the old Yiddish adage “even a dog has to be born lucky.”

What remains of my life is devoted to my efforts to persuade my wife that marrying me wasn’t a ghastly mistake.

13 Responses to “22 Years”

  1. Congratulations Sir. Not least for keeping her fooled for this long. According to my dear one, she realised long ago that I was a truly dreadful husband but sticks around purely through morbid curiosity.

    Like

  2. “my efforts to persuade my wife that marrying me wasn’t a ghastly mistake”

    how is that working out for you

    Like

  3. Congratulations.

    Like

  4. Greybeard – curiosity is a good thing, even a morbid one.

    Barnes – the jury is still out on that question.

    Bangar – thanks.

    Magg – “vale?”

    Like

  5. Congratulations on the 22 years! That’s a long time to keep someone laughing. Or smiling. Or occasionally not grimacing.
    More importantly did you receive an official congratulatory missive from the Governor or the President? No? Just shows what happens when the communists take over, no recognition of individual achievement.

    Like

  6. You get less time for murder you know.

    Seriously though, well done to you and your good lady wife! And many many more years to come!

    Like

  7. Que bueno para ti!
    Of course it is none of my business, but just curios, is this a reaffirmation or turning a new leaf?
    Either way, Congratulations!

    Like

  8. I wish I knew how to answer that, Janelle. I’m not sure I view a wedding anniversary as a reaffirmation or a new start: it is just a marker in time that shows a certain level of success measured by longevity, but is really more of a indicator of luck.

    Like

  9. Just ticked over 17 years myself.
    Certainly the smartest thing I ever did, exploiting a moment of her weakness.

    My most important survival tip is working out a way to communicate “this is X/10 important to me.”
    EG What car she drives 1/10 (DILLIGAF)
    Taking me to another sh!t boring Banker’s function 6/10 ( I really don’t want to go, but will if it’s That important to you)
    Zombie Prep Drills 9.5/10 (really really double plus critical)

    Like

  10. 22 years, your wife is either very patient or realises that those years were less onorous than having to spend them in a state peniteniary after putting you in extreme denial!!

    Hope you guys had a good meal and a laugh over the events of those 22 years.

    Like

  11. I was married 22 years when I left my ex… I hope you have better luck and continue on!

    Like

  12. Dr. Boylan,

    Congratulations on the auspicious occasion of the anniversary of your wedding vows.

    As a fellow “man who loves his wife” I can certainly appreciate your ongoing confusion as to why the hell they stay with us.

    I haven’t a clue and I’ve only been doing it for half as many years as you.

    Thanks for blazing a trail. Even though it appears to just go in circles.

    Regards,
    Rhino

    Like

Leave a Reply

