HEADLINE – Freeway air pollution linked to brain damage in mice

LOS ANGELES – Exposure to air pollution from cars and trucks on Southern California freeways has been linked to brain damage in mice, including signs associated with memory loss and Alzheimer’s disease, according to a USC study in the journal Environmental Health Perspectives. 

In a statement, senior author Caleb Finch, an expert on the effects of inflammation and holder of USC’s ARCO/William F. Kieschnick Chair in the Neurobiology of Aging, said “This study raises the possibility of long-term brain health consequences for mice that drive, especially mice with long commutes to and from work that expose them to freeway pollution.”

Dr. Finch was quick to point out that, even though his study reveals previously unknown risks to mice that drive, there are more serious problems mice with automobiles must consider.

 


 

 

Source: http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/greenspace/2011/04/freeway-air-pollution-brain-damage-mice.html

.

11 Responses to “HEADLINE – Freeway air pollution linked to brain damage in mice”

  1. Greybeard Says:

    I see absolutely no down-side to dumber mice. What about you Ms Catty?

    Like

  2. No animals were harmed in the writing of this post … I think.

    Like

  3. I want to know how Paul got those photos. My defense lawyer said they were inadmissible as evidence.

    Like

  4. Its a CATastrophe.

    Like

  5. paulboylan Says:

    I just heard about the study on the radio while driving back from Sacramento. It doesn’t surprise me a bit.

    Like

  6. Is this why Stuart Little was so lame?

    Like

  7. paulboylan Says:

    I am afraid so. The little guy was retarded. It certainly explains a lot.

    Like

  8. I am a new guy! I like here!

    Like

  9. I am a new guy! I like here!

    Like

  10. I am a new guy! I like here!

    Like

Leave a Reply

