New Feature – FORGOTTEN MEDIA …………… First up – THE CORE

.

.

Let’s face it: most of what is created to tempt us into wasting time and spending money, with the hope of being entertained, is crap.

.

.

.

.

It wastes our money. It insults our intelligence. Books, movies and television are engendered more often than not with the foundational assumption that the consuming public is composed of people with very low Intelligence Quotients and very, very low standards.

.

When media executives think of us, this is what they see.

.

And so much of it is fraudulent.  How many times have you seen a movie preview, grown excited by the prospect of a new movie, only to discover that the preview previewed a movie that doesn’t exist, like emphasizing characters and plot points that are incidental in the actual movie?  It happens all the time.

.

.

I often encounter media, the excellence of which surprises me.  I’ll watch a television show, read a book, listen to a radio play, watch a movie and ask myself “why didn’t I hear about this sooner?”

When I look into it, I often find out that virtually no one has seen or heard of what  just surprised me.

I call it Forgotten Media – popular entertainment that wasn’t popular enough to make it into the popular conscience.  And there is a lot of it.  I was thinking that my legion of blog visitors might be interested in knowing more.

Today, quite by accident,  I saw a movie entitled The Core.

.

The Core is a science fiction adventure film, and one of the best I’ve ever seen.  The plot is based on the simple question “what would happen if the earth’s core stopped rotating?”

If that question doesn’t create both interest and terror, then you probably don’t know how important the question is.  Simply put, all life on earth is possible only because our planet has a molten iron core that spins in the opposite to the earth’s rotation.  So if the earth rotates from right to left (east to west) the earth’s molten iron core spins left to right (west to east).  

Not all planets do this.  Mars doesn’t do it, which is why it will never be possible for humans to live on Mars.

.

Never gonna happen.

.

Here is how it works:  the earth’s molten core, spinning in the opposite direction to the earth’s rotation, generates a huge magnetic field that surrounds the earth like a force field.

.

.

This force field prevents solar radiation from hitting the earth and killing every single living thing on the planet.

.

.

So, if the earth’s liquid iron core stops rotating, it would cause the earth’s magnetic field to collapse, allowing solar radiation to hit the earth. And if that happens, everything from the smallest microbe to the largest blue whale dies.

.

.

Very early in The Core, the main characters learn the earth’s core is slowing down, and the rest of the movie is a race against time to save the planet.

The cast – put together by the best casting director in the business, Tricia Wood – includes Aaron Eckhart, Hillary Swank, Delroy Lindo, Stanley Tucci and Alfre Woodard, with a stand out performance by D.J. Quails as a computer hacker whom the US government  asks to “hack the planet” to keep the whole thing secret to avoid worldwide panic. 

The Core is directed by Jon Amiel, who also directed another of my favorite forgotten movies, Tune in Tomorrow.
.

.

So what you have here is a well-written, well-acted, well-directed adventure film that nobody but me has seen (and maybe a few of you) and, if you haven’t seen it, I recommend that you do.

.

.

53 Responses to “New Feature – FORGOTTEN MEDIA …………… First up – THE CORE”

  1. Now I know that you – having recognised that The Core is utterly appalling – expect us all to jump in here and splutter in protest at your assessment. “Paul!” We will cry, “How could you? Unobtainium? Nuking the core to reboot the Earth? This is the worst bullshit since Ferdinand ate a bushel of chilies.”

    But it won’t work. Uh-uh, no way. I’m on to you. I just wish you you hadn’t brought back those horrible memories.

    Like

  2. Umm. You are kidding, right?

    Like

  3. I am a big fan of scientist saves the world movies, not enough of them being made these days. The Core is one I really liked. Two things in particular stand out in my memory. Having been a PhD student the part where Dr. Joshua Keyes says

    “do this and I sign off on your thesis with out reading them”

    had me questioning why were his students not moving to do what he asked the moment that sentence left his mouth.

    and the material that Dr. Brazzelton invented for the ship ‘the Virgil’ to survive the pressures on the hull was called ‘unobtainium’ (take that James Cameron). It was used more accurately in the core since it was a term being used by engineers in the aerospace field since the 1950s for referring to “he lack of a superior high-temperature material”.

    Although in a poll of scientist the core was voted the one with the most scientific inaccuracies, but it was fun to watch. http://www.news.com.au/news/actor-dustin-hoffman-lobbies-for-more-reality-in-science-fiction-movies/story-fna7dq6e-1225697804105

    I am now off to catch ‘Tune in tomorrow’ as I had never heard of it before.

    Like

  4. paulboylan Says:

    I will neither confirm nor deny whether this is a review of a film I really liked (that would ruin everything).

    But I will say that Tune in Tomorrow really is one of my favorite films for the sole reason that it targets Albanians for ridicule – something that no other film attempts (at least none of which I am aware). I mean, come on, why doesn’t anyone make fun of Albanians? I know half a dozen jokes that abuse the Irish. Same for Poles. Same even for Serbs and Greeks. But Albanians? Nope. they get a pass. I think it is totally unfair. I mean, have you ever met an Albanian? I mean, come on – they are an ethnicity ripe for ridicule. So why the plethora of Albanian jokes, eh? What is up with that??

    Like

  5. I believe you Paul. The DVD cover review says this movie is ” 100% Exciting!” Not 95,or 98, or even 99.9999…. 100% !
    If the reviewer from Fox-TV says this, then it must be true.

    Like

  6. I won’t be watching Tune In Tomorrow, solely because it came directly after a recommendation to watch a movie starring Hilary Swank. Crikey, next you’ll be recommending Eat Pray Love, or something with Hugh Grant in it. *shudder*

    Like

  7. The fine folk over at Tv Tropes list the following Albanian related fiction

    For Your Eyes Only – the famous scene with the pistachio shells in the warehouse was set in Albania.

    Wag The Dog, in which a Washington spin doctor devises a fictional war in Albania to boost polls – released just as Albania imploded in the mid-90s.

    Taken – The slave traders who capture the main character’s daughter and friend are Albanian.

    The Long Dark Teatime Of The Soul – Kate at one point wonders about a lorry, in point trying to think of if it came from here. Turns out it’s more carrying a cargo from the northern part of Europe..

    Harry Potter – Voldemort spent over a decade hiding in an Albanian forest.

    Frank Castle goes up against the Albanian mafia’s sex slave trafficking operation in Punisher: Slavers.

    The Simpsons once took in an Albanian exchange student. Unsurprisingly, he turned out to be a communist spy.

    Albanian gangsters show up in Grand Theft Auto IV.

    More importantly Eliza Dushku, she of Buffy and Dollhouse fame, is of Albanian descent and has the country’s symbolic eagle tattooed on the back of her neck. (don’t ask me how I found that out)

    Like

  8. paulboylan Says:

    I am aware of all of those references (except for the eagle tattoo – which is news to me). None of them are jokes.

    Like

  9. paulboylan Says:

    I just received, via email, the following joke:

    Q: What is the difference between an Albanian grandmother and a gorilla?

    A: Approximately three pounds.

    I don’t get it.

    Like

  10. I realise it’s an Australian political reference, and may not make sense, but that “moron” picture bears a striking resemblance to our opposition leader Tony Abbott.

    Like

  11. Hey there, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your website in Ie, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, very good blog!

    Like

  12. I am sure this post has touched all the internet people, its really really good piece of writing on building up new website.

    Like

  13. Very rapidly this website will be famous amid all blogging people, due to it’s fastidious articles

    Like

  14. Good response in return of this question with genuine arguments and telling the whole thing on the topic of that.

    Like

  15. This is the right web site for anyone who wishes to find out about this topic. You know a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I actually will need to…HaHa). You certainly put a new spin on a subject which has been discussed for a long time. Great stuff, just great!

    Like

  16. Wonderful work! This is the type of information that should be shared around the web. Disgrace on the search engines for now not positioning this submit higher! Come on over and discuss with my web site . Thank you =)

    Like

  17. Aw, this was an incredibly nice post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to make a really good article… but what can I say… I hesitate a whole lot and don’t seem to get anything done.

    Like

  18. Hey! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a marvellous job!

    Like

  19. Its such as you read my thoughts! You seem to know a lot approximately this, such as you wrote the guide in it or something. I feel that you just can do with a few % to pressure the message house a little bit, however other than that, that is magnificent blog. A great read. I’ll definitely be back.

    Like

  20. Awesome site you have here but I was curious if you knew of any user discussion forums that cover the same topics discussed here? I’d really like to be a part of group where I can get opinions from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Many thanks!

    Like

  21. Hi, this weekend is fastidious designed for me, because this time i am reading this fantastic educational post here at my residence.

    Like

  22. Excellent web site you have got here.. It’s hard to find high quality writing like yours these days. I seriously appreciate people like you! Take care!!

    Like

  23. I need to to thank you for this very good read!! I absolutely enjoyed every bit of it. I’ve got you book marked to look at new stuff you post…

    Like

  24. Pretty! This was an incredibly wonderful article. Many thanks for supplying these details.

    Like

  25. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your web site. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility issues? A small number of my blog visitors have complained about my site not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera. Do you have any recommendations to help fix this issue?

    Like

  26. Yes! Finally something about electronic cigarette refills.

    Like

  27. Hi, its nice piece of writing regarding media print, we all be familiar with media is a impressive source of facts.

    Like

  28. Anonymous Says:

    Yes!! FINALLY someone had the COURAGE to write something about electronic cigarette refills! THANK YOU Paul Nicholas Boylan! Your courage in writing about electronic cigarette refills paves the way for freedom and justice for everyone who yearns to breathe free the discharge of an electronic cigarette! You are my hero!

    Like

  29. Spot on with this write-up, I seriously believe that this site needs far more attention. I’ll probably be back again to see more, thanks for the advice!

    Like

  30. Remarkable! Its genuinely amazing article, I have got much clear idea concerning from this article.

    Like

  31. Anonymous Says:

    Ya see? That’s what I’m going on about. Everyone LOVES this post! You hit on a chord that resonates in the human soul! You should run for political office!

    Like

  32. Hey there this is kinda of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding experience so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

    Like

  33. Quality articles is the important to attract the visitors to visit the web page, that’s what this site is providing.

    Like

  34. I’m curious to find out what blog system you are utilizing? I’m experiencing some small security problems with my latest blog and I would like to find something more safeguarded. Do you have any suggestions?

    Like

  35. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an email. I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

    Like

  36. Incredible! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s on a completely different subject but it has pretty much the same layout and design. Outstanding choice of colors!

    Like

  37. Hi would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a honest price? Thanks, I appreciate it!

    Like

  38. It’s actually a great and useful piece of information. I am glad that you just shared this helpful info with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  39. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve visited this website before but after looking at some of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back often!

    Like

  40. Good day! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

    Like

  41. I’m really loving the theme/design of your weblog. Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility issues? A few of my blog audience have complained about my site not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do you have any suggestions to help fix this problem?

    Like

  42. My partner and I stumbled over here by a different web address and thought I may as well check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to looking over your web page yet again.

    Like

  43. Hi there! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this website? I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

    Like

  44. Every weekend i used to pay a visit this website, because i want enjoyment, since this this website conations in fact pleasant funny stuff too.

    Like

  45. I’m amazed, I must say. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both educative and engaging, and without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head. The issue is something that too few men and women are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy I found this in my search for something regarding this.

    corexin (corexins.com)

    Like

  46. That is really fascinating, You are an excessively skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and stay up for in the hunt for extra of your magnificent post. Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks

    Like

  47. New Feature

    […]you made running a blog glance[…]

    Like

  48. Simply desire to say your article is as astounding. The clearness in your post is just nice and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the gratifying work.

    Like

  49. Remarkable! Ιts genuiney amazing post, Ӏ hɑve ɡot mսch clear ida regardring ffrom this paragraph.

    Like

  50. Every weekend i used to visit this web page, because i wish for enjoyment,
    for the reason that this this website conations actually
    good funny data too.

    Like

  51. weight destroyer Says:

    How can I do a live streaming webcast on Blogger?

    Like

  52. paulboylan Says:

    Sure.

    Like

  53. I am not sure where you’re getting your information, but great
    topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.

    Thanks for fantastic info I was looking for this information for my mission.

    Like

Leave a Reply

