Meet My Oldest and Youngest Sisters

.

My father married three times.

.

.

He producing three sons, of which I am the second, and five daughters. I recently realized that my oldest sister shares inexplicable similarities to my youngest sister.

My oldest sister is Marea. We share a mother and a father.

.

.

.

As is apparent, Marea is in love with the American culture exemplified in the 1890’s through the 1920’s.  Her passion for that era extends, in particular, to its music.  I personally am amazed that Marea has found a variety of fora to express her appreciation through performance in front of audiences of people equally passionate about such an esoteric historical period.  Here is an example:

.

.

Jump ahead a generation to the results of my father’s third, and most lasting, marriage.  This is my youngest sister, Eileen.

.

.

.

Like her oldest sister, Eileen has embraced the theatrical.  She is actually a fairly accomplished actress, which you can see byhclicking here/or by watching this film preview:

.

.

I am very proud of all my sisters, but Eileen possesses a talent that excites me more than any other: she is a talented graphic artist and there is a possibility she will collaborate with me to illustrate one of my Grim Fairy Tales entitled The Vulture Who Thought He Was a Person.

Stay tuned.

.

17 Responses to “Meet My Oldest and Youngest Sisters”

  1. Wow, such lovely and talented women. You should feel proud numbering these amongst your kin.

    Like

  2. I do. My other three sisters are also quite accomplished.

    But the men of my family – meh…

    Like

  3. Yep, what Therbs said.

    Like

  4. How lovely that you have a good relationship with your siblings. I, too, have siblings… but we shall never speak of that again. Hurry up with that book, Paul, I want an autographed copy to read to my kidlets. Honestly, it has nothing to do with showing off to my friends.

    Like

  5. Oh Cat, how I would love to write something suitable for a child to read or hear. But I don’t. The story I envision will be very short and inappropriate. I am most excited about collaborating with my sister. However, once she sees the story, there is a good chance she will decline the offer.

    Like

  6. How wonderful it must have been for them growing up around the young PNB, surely everyday would have been an adventure.

    Like

  7. Wow, awesome stuff Herr Doktor Professor B. Begs the question of nature v nurture. Siblings from different parents but all are relatively successful. Or, maybe, your father’s Greek genome is just splendiforously dominant.

    Like

  8. Boylan is an Irish name. My mother’s maiden name is Speliotis. Perhaps it is the Irish that brings out the performer. My sister Marea is half Irish and half Greek. My sister Eileen is half Irish and half Filipino. Both were bitten by the acting bug.

    It is often said that every successful trial attorney is a frustrated actor. Back in the 1980’s I did some radio drama and was a member of a video comedy group, and I did some very good work, but, in the end, I wanted a regular pay check and chose law school.

    Did I sell out? You bet I did.

    Like

  9. Like Cat, I too have a sister. Who, if I never saw her again, it would still be too soon. A vapid waste of oxygen who has not had a full time job since she was about 18 (she is now 43), should have died years ago from drug use and the side effects thereof, but unfortunately she has the constitution of Keith Richards crossed with a cockroach. A blood infection she survived (after 5 months in hospital) in recent years would have killed any normal person. Has two kids, both of whom had been removed from her care by DOCs – in one case her drug dealer actually alerted the authorities to her shithouse parenting. Nowadays she has substituted alcohol for drugs in a time homoured tradition.

    In short, you are a lucky man Paul. How blessed you are to have such talented and attractive siblings!

    Like

  10. Yes. If they were munters I wouldn’t love them. I am shallow that way.

    Like

  11. A side note, I always took ‘munted’ to mean under the influence of strong recreational chemicals e.g. ‘He was mounted off his tits on pingers’ – he was under the influence of very strong pills that may or may not have contained MDMA or something similar.

    Like

  12. Gaah bloody iPad spell check…

    Like

  13. “Mounted” makes sense, too.

    As I understand it – and I readily admit that my understanding is limited by my seppo-osity – a munter is an ugly person, and getting “munted” is getting so inebriated that the face changes, becoming unattractive. Hence Nick’s threats to “get Boylan munted” when I was last in the Sydney vicinity.

    Like

  14. Munted means being off chops on booze, pills whatever and ugly at it. Munters are ugly folk who get munted. They’re usually a tad lacking in some areas of intellectual development but its not a pre-requisite of munterdom. Calling someone a munter generally infers that one of their main behavioural drivers is booze or pills, forsaking what other people would generally see as reasonable thinking.
    I understand next time you’re in Sydney there will be another attempt to get you off chops in an ugly fashion.

    Like

  15. I can’t believe I haven’t commented on this yet. You do have lovely sisters and I too await my signed copy of one of your twisted tales. I would like to volunteer my services as a graphic designer if Eileen baulks at your depravity. That’s provided you don’t mind the fact that I know nothing of graphic design and may even break something while trying to do it.

    Like

  16. Seriously: do you draw? If you do, I would love to collaborate with you on a story.

    Like

  17. Paul, I’m not an artist much to my regret because I can only imagine how much fun that collaboration would be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

