Brothers in Arms

(Songwriters: Knopfler, Mark)

These mist covered mountains
Are a home now for me
But my home is the lowlands
And always will be

Some day you’ll return to
Your valleys and your farms
And you’ll no longer burn
To be brothers in arms

Through these fields of destruction
Baptisms of fire
I’ve witnessed your suffering
As the battles raged higher

And though we were hurt so bad
In the fear and alarm
You did not desert me
My brothers in arms

There’s so many different worlds
So many different suns
And we have just one world
But we live in different ones

Now the sun’s gone to hell
And the moon’s riding high
Let me bid you farewell
Every man has to die

But it’s written in the starlight
And every line on your palm
We’re fools to make war
On our brothers in arms

.

.

14 Responses to “Brothers in Arms”

  1. Do you know what your antipodean brothers (and sisters) get when we click on the video?

    We get a screen stating “This video contains content from UMG. It is not available in your country”.

    Well fuck you, Boylan! Placing tidbits just out of reach and then laughing as our grasping paws are unable to get a hold.

    Yes, fuck you.

    Like

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Boylan doesn’t care. He is evil incarnate.

    Like

  3. Josephus Says:

    I know Boylan. I met him. He pretends to care but he doesn’t. Typical american.

    Like

  4. This is his revenge on us getting the big box office movies before the U.S.
    Oh. and I’ve met him. He does care. But he also has this tendency to go all evil super villain and boast about his secret lair.

    Like

  5. Anonymous Says:

    Funny, when _I_ click on the video, I get the Best Music Video ever! Maybe it’s not the Boylan that’s the problem…?

    Like

  6. paulboylan Says:

    “The” Boylan?

    I very much approve.

    Like

  7. This song for me recalls the season two finale for West Wing, brilliant use of the song.

    Like

  8. You must have read my mind, Paul. Was going to buy this CD (which I once owned) yesterday. I think I will buy it today. I’ve always loved this song.

    Like

  9. bangarrr Says:

    Ok here,

    Link fixed for other than USA.

    Like

  10. Thanks Bangarr, the wily Boylan can tempt and mock the antipodeans, but our local Brothers in Arms will deliver…
    I’ve always loved this song – I remember using it for a presentation on “Protest Songs” in our Grade 9 English class. Thanks for sharing Prof…

    Like

  11. Sad, Timmo, very sad. The rest of us used this album to shag to. Better than Ravel’s Boléro, that’s all I can say.

    Like

  12. paulboylan Says:

    Is “shag” slang for “fuck?” If not, then that sentence made no sense at all.

    Like

  13. Yes, it’s an Australian colloquialism for recreational intercourse. This is why Holden panel vans are known across Australia as Shaggin’ Wagons.

    Like

  14. paulboylan Says:

    Oh. I see. I thought they were called Shaggin’ Wagons for a very different reason. I am actually a bit relieved.

    Like

Leave a Reply

