EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW WITH PROFESSOR X BOYLAN

CATS FLOATING

 

John Birmingham is a prolific writer who’s most recent three novels – Emergence, Resistance and Ascendance – tell the story of how an oil drilling platform in the Gulf of Mexico drills so deep that it accidentally breaks the “cap stone” separating our world from a demon hoard that once ruled the earth and used people for food.  They plan on reconquering the surface world only to discover that humans aren’t the timid, frightened “cattle” they were thousands of years ago, but have evolved from helpless savages into a global technological civilization with weapons that seem like magic to the invading demons.

 

kill dragon

 

And the demon hoard didn’t count on Dave Hooper, an oil rig worker, becoming the demon-killing champion of Humankind.

 

emergence-e1431534622209-250x250

Dave Hooper carrying Lucille.

 

Professor X. Boylan  is a fictional character depicted in Resistance, the second novel in the series.

 

Resistance

Resistance

 

We were fortunate enough to locate and interview Paul Nicholas Boylan, the real life basis for the fictional character.

PEOPLE OF EARTH: Welcome Mr. Boylan.  Thank you for coming here today.

PAUL NICHOLAS BOYLAN: No problem, Chief.

POE: We here at People of Earth are big fans of John Birmingham’s novels and we feel his most recent  “technology v. magic” Dave Hooper novels are possibly the best Birmingham has written.

PNB:  Yeah, that’s what people are telling me.

POE:  You haven’t read these books yet?

PNB:  I’m waiting for the graphic novel adaptations to come out.

POE:  Why?

PNB:  ‘Cause I like comic books.

 

LostInSpaceAnnuals

POE:  Aren’t you at all curious about Professor X. Boylan, the character you inspired?

PNB:  Let me explain somethin’ here, Chief. It is sort of my policy, if you will, to not read any of the books that have characters based on yours truly.

POE:  Why not?

PNB: I got my reasons.

POE:  Are there other characters based on you?

PNB:  Yeah.  I’m sort of like a “muse” if you know what I mean.

POE:  What other authors have you inspired?

PNB:  Dean Koonz put me in Odd Thomas and that grenade launcher put me in Fifty Shades of Grey.

POE:  Which characters?

PNB:  I’m not sure but I’m told I’m in there.

POE:  I haven’t read either of those books –

PNB:  Me neither.

POE: – but let’s compare Professor X. Boylan to the real you.

PNB: Knock yourself out, Chief.

POE:  To start out with, this is you.

pnb shades
Paul Nicholas Boylan

PNB:  Hey, thanks for not using one of my mug shots.

POE:  And this is what Professor X. Boylan is supposed to look like.

Paul-Giamatti-in-John-Dies-at-the-End
Professor X. Boylan

PNB:  I got no complaints.

POE:  Nellie over at  onebooktwo.wordpress.com reviewed Resistance and said

Professor X Boylan, attorney at law, is an interesting character.  He’s obviously brilliant, but he’s also an attorney, which makes him a wordsmith.  He is very funny without meaning to be funny.

PNB: Funny?

POE:  Oh yes. Hilarious.  Nellie, also at onebooktwo.wordpress.com, wrote “Boylan make great comic relief.”

PNB: What the fuck does that mean?

POE:  It means the character based on you is funny.

PNB: What do you mean I’m funny?

POE: It’s funny, you know. Your character is a funny guy.

PNB: Funny how? I mean, what’s funny about it?

POE: Just, you know, you character is funny.

PNB: Let me understand this, ’cause, ya know maybe it’s me, but I’m funny how? I mean funny like I’m a clown?

 

midnyte-clown

POE:  No, not like a clown –

PNB: I amuse you? I make you laugh? What do you mean funny? How am I funny?

POE: Just… you know, your character –

PNB: No, no, I don’t know.  You said I’m funny. How the fuck am I funny? What the fuck is so funny about me? Tell me. Tell me what’s funny.

Disgruntled Republican

POE:  Nothing. Nothing is funny about you at all, and I apologize for implying anything at all that you find objectionable.  Truth be told, you are actually more similar to Joe Pesci’s character, Tommy, in the movie Goodfellas.

PNB:  Nope. Much as I’d like to, I can’t take credit for that. Nick and Marty came up with that all on their own.

POE:  Well, that’s a fucking relief.

 

people of earth

12 Responses to “EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW WITH PROFESSOR X BOYLAN”

  1. See? Hilarious!🙂

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on One Book Two and commented:
    The folks over at People Of The Earth posted an exclusive interview with the inspiration for the character of Professor X Boylan from John Birmingham’s Resistance. Check it out! Thanks, POE!

    Like

  3. Nervous Nell Justice Says:

    Dearest Mr. Boylan, while it is my greatest pleasure to work with attorneys on a daily basis, I have not yet met one that has your sense of humor, good looks and obvious charisma. I believe you could sway any jury to see a particularly challenging case in a light that would find you favorable. I did not mean to offend your delicate sensibilities when I labeled you “funny”. It is a great honor to have inspired a character in a book that is as great as Mr. Birmingham’s..

    P.S. Mr. Poe – please note that this PS is not for Mr. Boylan’s eyes, but I wanted you to know that I feel that Joe Pesci’s character in Goodfellas was an excellent character, however, I feel Mr. Boylan resembles another one of Pesci’s characters much more closely. Joe played Vincent LaGuardia in the 1992 movie “My Cousin Vinnie”. That’s more Mr. Boylan’s speed, I believe. 😉

    Like

  4. Please don’t encourage him.

    Like

  5. Finally someone has been able to reach the real you.

    Like

  6. Reasonably confident the blonde in the Lost in Space annual wasn’t born a she. Good luck to her and I wish her all the best, but check out that abdomen. Aye carumbra!

    Like

  7. paulboylan Says:

    She’s a Space Chick, Bob. Space Chicks are different.

    Like

  8. Hahahahaha!!!

    Like

  9. paulboylan Says:

    Glad you liked it, Jenn.

    Like

  10. I did! Very entertaining!

    Like

  11. paulboylan Says:

    Oh, I amuse you? Like a clown??

    Like

  12. Well, not in a “dance, monkey, dance!” sort if way.

    More like in a “write, hamster, write!” kind of way.

    The difference, of course, is as distinct as it is obvious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

