OXI

Disgruntled Republican

The people of Greece resoundingly said “no” (oxi) to the austerity plan proposed by Greece’s creditors.

oxi-graffiti copy

Saying yes would have caused never ending unemployment and poverty.  Greece’s creditors kept lending money to Greece knowing full well and with utter certainty that Greece could never repay the money.  A yes vote on the austerity plan would mean de facto slavery for the Greek people. Forever.

But Greece’s creditors were banking on the Greek people’s fear of what would happen if Greece rejected the austerity plan.  If Greece voted no, the Greek banking system would vanish.  Everyone’s bank accounts would be seized.  And after that?  No food. No light. No heat.

bank of greece copy

Darkness. Chaos. Death in the streets.

But not forever.  A “no” vote means horror in the short term – but the horror will not last.  In time the Greek government would print Drachmas to re-fund the national banks.  Greek trade would pivot away from Europe and towards the Middle East and Russia.

The Greek “no” vote to Greece’s creditors’ austerity plan will very likely cause the end of the Euro Zone.  First Greece.  Next Spain.  Then Italy. Like dominos.  And the result will rock the world.

But I always knew the Greeks would vote “no.”  Long ago I learned a Greek saying.  An old one. I learned it when I was very small. My teachers made me memorize it.  My priest made me repeat it to make sure I got it right.

 And I can hear it in the streets of Athens today:

 

Ελευθερία

ή

Θάνατος

 

 

people of earth

3 Responses to “OXI”

  1. ” Greece’s creditors kept lending money to Greece knowing full well and with utter certainty that Greece could never repay the money” but holding such people to account isn’t that unAmerican?

    I put that phase into google translate and it came back as ‘Don’t park here’.

    Like

  2. paulboylan Says:

    Yes. Exactly. My teachers – and the priests in my church – were frustrated with my mother parking wherever she pleased. They wanted me to send her a message.

    Like

  3. greybeard3 Says:

    You don’t fool me “Paul”. I know my Greek alphabet and that last word was Thanatos. Now I saw Thanatos in the Guardians of the Galaxy movie and I know he’s an evil mastermind/overlord/renegade Titan. I don’t think I need to draw a diagram, do I? Beware of Greeks bearing debts! I’ve heard of Timmy Danaos and Donna Ferentes don’t you worry.

    Like

Leave a Reply

